Who is Katipally Venkata Ramana Reddy, Giant-Killer Who Beat KCR and Revanth Reddy in

In an expected turn of events in the prestigious Kamareddy assembly constituency of Telangana, BJP’s Katipally Venkata Ramana Reddy is leading against heavyweights K Chandrashekar Rao of Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) and A Revanth Reddy, state Congress chief.

Katipally is leading with 50,294 votes, followed by KCR who has secured 46,780 votes. Revanth Reddy is trailing with 45,419 votes.

A businessman by profession, 53-year-old Katipally Venkata Ramana Reddy is a Class 12 pass-out. His total declared assets are Rs 49.7 crore, which include Rs 2.2 crore in moveable assets and Rs 47.5 crore as immoveable assets, according to the election affidavit. His total declared income is Rs 9.8 lakh of which Rs 4.9 lakh is self-income. Katipally Venkata Ramana Reddy has total liabilities of Rs 58.3 lakh. There are 11 criminal cases registered against him.

In the 2018 assembly elections, Gampa Govardhan from Telangana Rashtra Samithi (now BRS) retained the position of MLA from Kamareddy, securing 42% of the total votes. He won against Congress’ Mohammad Ali Shabbir by a margin of 2%.

Story continues below advertisement

Assembly constituency no.16 Kamareddy (కామారెడ్డి in Telugu), is an Assembly (Sasana Sabha) seat in the North Telangana region and Kamareddy district, of the state of Telangana, which is in the South region of India (Bharat). Kamareddy is part of the 5. Zahirabad (General) Lok Sabha (Parliamentary) constituency. This constituency can be categorised as: General; Rural constituency.

Kamareddy Assembly constituency has an estimated Scheduled Caste population of 14.73% and an estimated Scheduled Tribe population of 4.67%, according to the report of the Delimitation Commission of 2008. The estimated literacy level of the district in which this constituency falls in is 48.49%, according the Census of India, 2011.

In the 2023 Telangana Assembly elections, there were a total of 2,45,822 eligible electors in the constituency, of which 1,18,718 were males and 1,27,080 females and 24 registered voters were of the third gender.

top videos

  • Animal Is Ranbir Kapoor’s Biggest Opener With Rs 61 Cr; Vicky Kaushal’s Sam Bahadur Earns Rs 5.5 Cr

  • Ranveer Meets Johnny Depp | Priyanka, Nick Set Couple Goals | Twinkle Khanna Stumps Vidya, Kiara

  • VIjay Varma On His Bollywood Journey & The Curious Case Of ‘Jaane Jaan’ | EXCLUSIVE

  • Randeep Hooda-Lin Laishram Opt For A Meitei Wedding; All You Should Know About The Manipuri Ceremony

  • Naga Chaitanya On His OTT Debut ‘Dhootha’, Failure Of ‘Laal Singh Chaddha’ & Aamir Khan | EXCLUSIVE

  • News DeskThe News Desk is a team of passionate editors and writers who break and analyse …Read More

    first published: December 03, 2023, 16:28 IST

    News18 Join our Whatsapp channel

    This article was originally published by a www.news18.com . Read the Original article here. .